Alexandria Bay Village Court
Alexandria Bay Village Court
110 Walton Street
PO Box 809
Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
What is the real cost of a traffic ticket?
About Our Firm: At Joseph P. Villanueva, Attorneys At Law we excel at getting tickets dismissed or reduced. We have more than 20 years of legal experience and have gained a reputation among our peers as being superb lawyers. Our team of traffic and criminal defense lawyers is lead by Joseph P. Villanueva. He is a former prosecutor. Having a former prosecutor on your side can help in analyzing critical issues in your case. This can make the difference in you keep your license or having your license suspended or revoked. Call us now 914-723-7900.
Send us an email
Fines and Surcharges
Our attorneys fight for our clients and attempt to resolve their case with the most favorable possible outcome. Below is a list of fines associated with some of the most widely issued tickets in the state. (Fines are subject to change without notice). Call our lawyers now at 800-893-9645 for a consultation.
|First-time speeding offense||$45 to $600|
|One or more speeding tickets|
(within eighteen months)
|Up to $1,575|
|Disobey a Traffic Signal|
(no other penalty provided)
|Unregistered Vehicle or Trailer||$25-$200|
|Equipment Violations of Vehicle or Trailer||$0-$100|
|Surcharges||$50 - $55|
New York Driver Assessment
New York State imposes a Driver Responsibility Assessment (also known as a DRA) for drivers who accumulate six points or more are earned on the driving record. Call our lawyers now at 800-893-9645 for a consultation.
|Six points or more on record||$300 one time payment;|
or $100 each year for 3 years
|Any additional points earned over six points||$25 for each point for 3 years|
|Refusing to take a breathalyzer test, conviction for alcohol related traffic offense or conviction for drug related traffic offense||$250 each year for 3 years|
A driver's license will be suspended if they fail to pay the New York Driver Assessment. This fine also applies to out of state drivers. Driver safety courses will not reduce these fines.
InsuranceAs far as insurance is concerned, traffic violations and points are included on a driver's record for at least 39 months.When an insurance company views a driver abstract that has accumulated points they may impose a surcharge. Points may remain on a driving record for up to 4 years.
What’s the point system NY?
There are too many possible violations to list in this answer, but for your convenience, here is a list of some common point violations.
01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40
(misdemeanor, 6 month suspension)
Leaving the scene of an accident
(personal injury, misdemeanor, 6 months in jail, revocation of license, $600.00 fine)
Passing a school bus
Following too closely
(unsafe lane change, left of center or wrong direction)
Disobeying a Traffic Signal (red light, stop sign, yield sign)
Right of way, failure to yield
Railroad crossing violation
Leaving the scene of an accident (property damage/domestic animal)
Child Safety Restraint (under 16 years old in front seat, under 10 years old in rear seats, under 4 years old in child seat)
Inadequate breaks (employers' commercial vehicle)
All other moving violations
Main ticket page