Avvo Rating
Empire State Counsel
Top 100 Trial Lawyers
Above the Bar Awards
All-Star Lawyers

Poughkeepsie Criminal Defense Lawyers

Call Now 800-893-9645If you are in need of criminal defense attorney in Poughkeepsie New York, give our lawyer a call at 800-893-9645.  We have handled everything from complex gang related drug charges to UPM (unlawful possession of marijuana charges).  Our criminal defense practice is lead by a former New York City prosecutor with more than a decade of experience.  Our experience has bestowed our managing attorney with the distinction of being on of the Top Lawyers in New York State.

Poughkeepsie City Court has the power to adjudicate legal matters ranging in size and scope.  It has the power to resolve monetary disputes such as landlord tenant cases and contract disputes.  It also has the power to hear criminal matters.  It has unlimited jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases such as Assault in the 3rd Degree, Criminal Mischief in the 5th Degree, and Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle in the 3rd Degree.

About the Court:

When you arrive in City Court, remember that the recording of court proceedings is prohibited and all electronic devices must be turned off.  Once you enter the court, you be asked to walk through a metal detector.  You may be subject to a search and as such, it is important to use your best judgment when bringing anything to court.

About the City:

Poughkeepsie is a municipality located in Dutchess County New York.  It is the county seat which means it the main political hub for the county.  The City is approximately 50 miles from the tip of New York City and is a few miles south of Albany.


Is a police officer required to appear in court for an arraignment?

No. A police officer or witness only needs to provide the prosecutor with corroboration but does not need to appear in court until the later stages of a criminal case.

Can I get time to pay a court fine?

Most courts require payment of a fine to be paid at the same day a case is resolved.

How much jail time can be given on a class A misdemeanor?

A class A misdemeanor carries a maximum 1 year jail sentence.

We defended clients charged with the following:

  • Speeding tickets, suspended licenses and other traffic violations
  • Serving alcohol to a minor and other violations of the Alcoholic Beverages Control (ABC) Law
  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Drug charges, including possession, manufacture, cultivation and sales of narcotics
  • Weapons or firearms violations
  • Assault
  • Domestic violence
  • Homicide, murder and manslaughter
  • "White-collar" crimes

If you have been charged with a crime contact our firm at

800-893-9645 as soon as possible.

Client Reviews
“I was extremely pleased with the friendly yet professional service that I received in resolving my legal issue.” Karen K.
“Joseph Villanueva and staff made the whole process so easy and gave me the peace of mind that I didn't receive points against my license. Well worth the money!” Linda P.
“Best attorney I’ve worked with. Stayed in contact throughout the whole process. Gave me frequent updates and always replied back to me within an hour. Definitely recommend.” Nikki C.