Driving With a Suspended License in New York (VTL 511)
Imagine this scenario: It is an ordinary day just like any other. You jump in your car and start to drive on the highway. A few minutes into your journey, you see the flashing lights of a police car signaling you to pull over. You realize that you were speeding and will soon be issued to ticket. At first you think this is an inconvenience . . . when suddenly, your ordinary day turns into a nightmare. The officer orders you out of the car and you find yourself being arrested and placed in the back of a police car for driving with a suspended license.
This nightmarish scenario is played out over and over again in towns, villages, and cities on a daily basis throughout New York State. If you find yourself in this situation, you need an experienced suspended license lawyer that can help keep you out of jail and save you from having a permanent criminal record.. Call the attorneys at Joseph P. Villanueva, Attorneys At Law at 800-893-9645 to see how we can help you today.
Most drivers do not realize that their failure to appear for a single speeding ticket can result in their privilege to drive being suspended. Even if your failure to respond was innocuous, your ignorance is not a defense.
Because the charge of driving with a suspended license is a crime, you will be processed by the police and for the most part be treated the same as individuals charged with DWI, sex offenses, and violent crimes. There is a good chance you will be handcuffed, searched, and brought to the local police precint or court to be arraigned.
If you are charged with this crime, you need to un-suspend your license and pay the appropriate lift fees.
What is a suspension termination fee?
The Vehicle and Traffic Law requires that a driver pay a suspension termination fee to end a definite driver license suspension. A definite suspension is a suspension of your driver license or driving privilege for a specified period of time.
In order to restore your license, you need to pay a suspension termination fee for each cases suspended your license. The fee can range from $25.00 to $100.00 depending on when you were suspended
and what was suspending your license.
Here is a brief glimpse into the grounds for being charged with driving with a suspended license (“AUO” Aggrivate Unlicesed Operation of a Motor Vehicle).
AUO - 3rd Degree: Unclassified misdemeanor punishable up to 30 days in jail, a mandatory fine from $200 to $500.This offense is committed when a person is operating with any suspension other than alcohol related.
AUO - 2nd Degree: Unclassified misdemeanor punishable up to 180 days in jail, a mandatory fine from $500 to $1000 Jail time is minimum mandatory 7 days or 3 years probation. This crime is committed when a driver:
1. Operates their care with an alcohol related suspension or revocation;
2. Operates their car with 3 or more active suspensions or revocations that
have occurred on 3 or more separate dates;
3. Commits the crime of AUO in 3rd Degree and have been convicted of the same within the previous 18 months.
AUO- 1st Degree: Is a Felony and is punishable with up to 4 years in state prison. There is a mandatory fine of $1,000 to $5,000. This offense is committed when a driver:
1. Operates a motor vehicle and has 10 or more suspensions or revocations imposed on 10 different dates or
2. Commits the offense of AUO - 2nd Degree while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Call now for a free telephone consultation at (800) 893-9645.
Additional suspended license information