Lawyer’s Traffic Ticket Guide for Canton Village Court
The Village of Canton lies alongside the Grasse River and covers 3.3 square miles in St. Lawrence County, less than 20 miles from the Canadian border. The village has a population of 6,314 (2010 U.S. Census), and is home to St. Lawrence University. The State University of New York (SUNY) at Canton is situated just north of the village. The area is served by U.S. Route 11, New York State Routes 68 and 310, and County Roads 24 and 27.
Having to go to court for the first time can be a daunting task. This guide should answer some basic questions and help ease your mind about the legal arena. If you have a legal matter in Canton, give our lawyers a call to learn how we can help. We can be reached at 800-893-9645.Court Tips and Tidbits
Canton Village Court
60 Main Street
Canton, NY 13617
The Village Justice Court is held every Tuesday at 9:30 a.m., and continues until all cases have been heard. The Court Clerk’s office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. every Monday through Friday, except for holidays.
Tip: It is important to notify the court clerk that you are present for your court appearance. Failure to do so may result in your case not being called.
Trial: Each motorist is entitled to a trial on his or her traffic matters. In general, a traffic trial will occur on the driver’s first court appearance. The first court appearance is usually designated as a pre-trial conference.
Plea: The majority of cases are resolved via plea bargaining. In lieu of having a trial, it may be possible to resolve a traffic matter with a lesser included charge. Most resolution will involve a fine and a surcharge. The surcharge is additional monies payable at the end of case that are paid to New York State.
It is possible to reach a plea bargain on most cases. It has been our experience that excessive speeding, repeat offenders, and cell phone violators will have a difficult time securing a favorable resolution.How Many Points Will I Face?
Speeding tickets in New York State range from 3-11 points, depending on your speed.
01 to 10 mph over the limit
11 to 20
21 to 30
31 to 40
More than 40
If you accumulate 11 points, your license will be suspended. Please keep in mind, it is a crime to drive with a suspended license. If you are pulled over the officer can impound your car and arrest you.
Points will affect a driver’s privilege to drive for 18 months from the date in which the ticket was issued. In other words, the points do not run from the date of the conviction. They run from the moment the officer issued the summons.About Our Firm
At Villanueva and Sanchala, we provide our clients with the highest quality legal representation. As such, we are recognized as some of the finest lawyers all over New York State. We have helped countless drivers save money, time, points and insurance increases. Call us now for your consultation and see how we can help you save! Our attorneys can be reached at 800-893-9645.
For more information, please visit the following links: